Informatica Powercenter up and running in less than 30 minutes and yes it’s free (well free trial at least, with full PDF documentation)!


This is very simple and quick tip for everybody who wants to have Informatica Powercenter up and running in very short period of time and does not want to spend a dime. Yes all components are free and you are not breaking and license.

Take this as a very quick demo.

what you need

1. VMWare Player
2. MS Windows Server
3. Oracle Database
4. Informatica Server and Client

Here we go …

First, let’s start with VMWare. There are some other free options, I really like WMVare Player. It’s quick to install, very easy to use and Unity mode blows every other option away. You can get free VMWare Player here

After you install it, the second step is to download free 30 day evaluation of Windows 2003 server. After you download it, you can easily open it (click OPEN, not NEW instance and open WIN2K3R2EESP2.vmc) using VMWare Player – please note VMWare Player converts it to it’s own format (this conversion took around 30 seconds on my PC).

Now start VMWare with Windows Server 2003 (make sure you enable networking, it’s by default turned off in VMWare machine). After you login to the server using Administrator/Evaluation1 , download Oracle Database (download it from Windows 2003 server you just installed). The easiest way is to start with Oracle XE – it’s super easy to install it and you really don’t need to know much about oracle. You can get it here. The installation is painless, the only thing you need to set next to destination directory is password for sys.

After you install it, open web console and either create new user or enable SCOTT user – this user will be used by informatica repository and you need this ID during informatica installation. XE comes with easy to use web interface, it should take couple seconds to create new userid. You can of course use sql*plus

The last component is Informatica Powercenter. I’m not sure if Informatica offers demo version, but Oracle does. Wait, you said Oracle? That’s right. Back in the old days when Hyperion was standalone company they offered Informatica Powercenter as part of their Essbase server offer, they called it Hyperion Data Integration Management sometimes called as DIM. I’m a bit surprised Oracle still offer it. From what I can tell it’s really full blown Informatica Powercenter 8.1 with few cut-down features – you cannot run in parallel and you cannot use some of the drivers which come with Powercenter offered through Informatica. Download your copy here

The installation is very straightforward, when the setup asks for database location – select

database: ORACLE
host name:  localhost
SID: XE
USERID/PASWORD: whatever you created after you installed Oracle Database

grab your license key here http://licensecodes.oracle.com/hyperion.html

That’s pretty much it. The downloads of the software components can take some time (windows and informatica are pretty big), the actual installation is very quick and does not require more than couple reboots (one for VMWare, one for Windows 2003).

small note: it can happen that when you reboot Windows2003 server, Informatica services are not going to start. This is possible that it tries to start before OracleXE starts. The easiest way is to wait for all services to start, then restart OracleXE services and then start Informatica services (both have shortcut in START-PROGRAMS menu).

One additional note about Window vs Linux vs Solaris … Yes I prefer Oracle on Linux or Solaris, but let’s be honest, if you are doing it for the first time, you are going to spend quite a lot of time making sure all prerequirements are met. Installing XE on Windows is very quick and requires virtually no special setting.

46 thoughts on “Informatica Powercenter up and running in less than 30 minutes and yes it’s free (well free trial at least, with full PDF documentation)!

  1. Kevin says:

    In the instructions it says:

    “Now start VMWare with Windows Server 2003 (make sure you enable networking, it’s by default turned off in VMWare machine). ”

    Where and how exactly do you enable networking?

    Thanks.

  2. jiri says:

    1. open VMWARE Player
    2. click on Windows2003 instance
    3. on the right side click on Edit Virtual Machine Setting
    4. click on “Network Adapter”
    5. on the right side select NAT (Bridge should work as well, I prefer NAT for servers)

    hope it helps
    jiri

  3. Kevin says:

    Hi, Jiri.

    Thanks for the reply. Much appreciated.

    Once I’ve brought up Windows 2003 from the VMWARE Player, I’m still unable to establish an internet connection to run the browser so that I can continue with the Oracle XE install. Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Kevin

  4. jiri says:

    if it still does not work then …

    I would say shut down the Windows Server in WMVARE, turn NAT as I described above and then start Windows Server. If that does not help

    1. do the same with BRIDGE instead of NAT
    2. if you are connecting behind proxy server, make sure the setting is the same as your PC

    if you still have issues

    1. download all programs on your own host PC
    2. shut down Windows Server in VMWARE (important step here)
    3. in VMWARE Player go to “Edit Virtual Machine Setting”
    4. click on tab Options
    5. click on “Shared Folders” and enable sharing and share a folder to which you downloaded all programs

    now when you start Windows Server in VMWARE you will see the folder mapped as network drive and you can install all programs even without going to the internet

  5. Kevin says:

    Thanks, Jiri.

    I’ve managed to get the internet connection working. I had forgotten to check off the “Connect at power on” under “Device Status” under “Network Adapter”. I think I need another coffee …

    Sorry for bothering you, and thanks again for all your help.

    Kevin

  6. Kevin says:

    Hi again, Jiri.

    I’m at the stage where I’m about do the Powercenter install, starting with the server install followed by the client install.

    Any idea where I find the license key file for the server install?

    Thanks,
    Kevin

  7. jiri says:

    I have live key from our registration, try this link – it has all Hyperion keys http://licensecodes.oracle.com/hyperion.html

  8. Kevin says:

    Thanks, Jiri. Much appreciated.

    Kevin

  9. Kevin says:

    Hi again, Jiri.

    Hoping that you can help me out again. The Informatica services keep dying, no matter how many times it is restarted. Oracle XE service remains up and running just fine.

    Any ideas on this?

    Thanks,
    Kevin

  10. jiri says:

    Does it die right after you start it or does it run for a while and then dies.

    How much memory did you allocate in vmware?

  11. Kevin says:

    Hi, Jiri.

    It dies within a minute of starting it. In vmware, about 600mb was allocated. I tried increasing it to 1 gigabyte, but still same problem. The strange thing is that it was running fine all day Tuesday and then started dying on Wednesday.

  12. Kevin says:

    Hi, Jiri.

    I’ve resolved my problem. The Oracle database was not up even though the Oracle services were running. A few restarts of the database resolved the problem.

    Thanks,
    Kevin

  13. jiri says:

    I remember I had exactly same issue while back. I usually restarted oracle and few minutes later informatica. If you keep both in the same virtual machine, maybe the best way is to set services to start manually and then create simple script which starts oracle services first, waits 30 seconds, then starts informatica services.

  14. Kevin says:

    Good suggestions, Jiri. Thanks again for all your help.

    Kevin

  15. SIDIBABA says:

    Is the PowerCenter demo still available on Oracle Web site ?
    The link send to the index of downloads (http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/indexes/downloads/index.html), and powercenter is not on the list.
    Any help would be very appreciated.

  16. jiri says:

    I clicked on “Oracle Hyperion Previous Releases”, then on ” Hyperion Data Integration Management” and ended on this page

    http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/middleware/bi-foundation/downloads/hyperion-data-integration-111110-094715.html

  17. lakshmi says:

    Thanks a lot. Its very good and helpfull. Thanks for sharing

  18. Vijay says:

    Hi Jiri, Am trying to get the trail version of informatica with the above steps given. I have downloaded VMware player. Now, windows 2003 server, the above link has totally 4 files. I have downloaded all of them. I would like to know whether I need to know to run the .exe (application) or open the file (click OPEN, not NEW instance and open WIN2K3R2EESP2.vmc) using VMWare Player ? The problem is, I don’t see WIN2K3EESP2.VMC file after I downloaded all the 4 files.

    Please advise. I am very much interested to learn Informatica. This will help me to move further thanks. Vijay

  19. jiri says:

    once you download 4 files, put them to one folder and run the Win2k3R2EE.part01.exe – it will uncompress all 4 files

    then open WIN2K3EESP2.VMC in VMWARE

  20. Vijay says:

    Thanks for your response Jiri. I am able to login to windows 2003 now. Next, I wanted to download Oracle XE. The above link has three Oracle softwares (Oracle XE (Western Euroape), Oracle XE (Universal), Oracle Client). Which one should I use.

    Thanks again

  21. jiri says:

    Both western and universal will do the trick (do not download the client).

    I would go for western

  22. Vijay says:

    Finally, I did installed powercenter and started working on it. Thanks for all your help. Its helping me lot.

    Quick Qn:

    Can I install powercenter in my local pc instead of windows 2003 server ?

  23. Ravi says:

    Guys – I need help. I am in the middle of installing Informatica based on the steps outlined above and I am getting ‘Connection Test Failed’. I am at step ‘Node Configuration – Create new PowerCenter repository’. I am unsure about the Connect string. Can you please advise. Let me know if I can provide any additional details.

  24. jiri says:

    What is your database? Did you install XE on local machine? If yes, is it UP and running? There is a simple script to start all oracle services

  25. Ravi says:

    Jiri – Thanks for your prompt response. I am running (Oracle XE (Western Euroape). I installed XE on the VM. There are the services which are up and running – OracleXEClrAgent, OracleXETNSListener,OracleServiceXE,OracleMTSRecoveryService. My SID is XE and I created user as INFSYS using the Oracle Web Admin interface. I have tried a bunch of names for the Connect String like localhost.world, XE.world, just XE,etc but no luck so far. Let me know if I can provide any additional details to help narrow down.

  26. jiri says:

    I think it’s localhost

    Can you access it from SQL*plus?

  27. Ravi says:

    Jiri – Yes, I was able to access the database from SQL*plus and was also able to view DB Objects via the web interface. I tried localhost and it did not work. Finally, after trying a few more combinations, I shut off Win 2003 Server and then the VM Player and rebooted my laptop. And that seemed to do the trick. It went fine past that step just with localhost. I am done with the Server and Client installation now. Thanks a lot for your help!!!! Appreciate it.

  28. G says:

    Did you install sp3? if yes under which section is the licience key

  29. jiri says:

    SP3 for what?

  30. Anonymous says:

    Hi Jiri – I’m stuck on step two. I have the VMWare player installed, and I have also downloaded and installed windows server 2003. However, in the download page for server 2003 (the link you provided) there’s a little comment that says “you will need to have Microsoft® Virtual Server 2005 R2 installed on a physical machine to use Server 2003.” I do not have this Virtual Server installed. Is this necessary? If not, how do I open Server 2003 from VMWare (as you instructed above)?

  31. jiri says:

    you don’t need Microsoft Virtual Server 2005 R2, you should be able to open WIN2K3R2EESP2.vmc using VMWare player, in vmware player simply click on OPEN and select File Type “Virtual PC”

  32. Anonymous says:

    Hello Jiri ,I am done with step 1,but when I try to open the file Win2k3R2EE.vmc ,it asks for installation of VMware vCenter Converter Standalone product. I tried to install the converter ,but even after that I am not able to open the Win2k3R2EE.vmc . Can you please help?

  33. jiri says:

    its been a while since I tried this and maybe VMWare changed a bit, did you try to download VMWare converter, it looks like its free http://www.vmware.com/products/converter/

  34. Sai says:

    I am getting the below error while Installing Informatica Powercenter 8.1.1 Server on my Windows8 64bit

    INSTALLATION Directory tab:

    INSTALLATION requires 500 MB of free disk space but there are only 0 MB available.

    My drive actually has 100 GB free, but I am not aware what exactly this error refers to.

    Please guide me regarding this.

  35. jiri says:

    I don’t think PowerCenter 8.1.1 is certified on Windows8 64bit….

    few things you can try

    1. make sure you are logged as administrator
    2. make sure you install it with raised privileges (right click the EXE and run it as administrator)
    3. is temp directory on the same drive?
    4. worse case install virtual machine with supported windows version and install the PowerCenter in the virtual machine

    hope it helps a bit
    jiri

  36. Sai says:

    Hi Jiri, Thanks for your immediate response. I really appreciate it.

    Yes, I logged in as an administrator and the TEMP directory and the Informatica PowerCenter are both on the same C drive.

    I have extracted pc811_windows32 rar file and running the Install.exe file with administrator privileges.

    But I am still facing the same error.

  37. Sai says:

    Hi Jiri, I have actually installed VMPlayer suggested by you in this documentation. I am done with the Windows Server 2003 Configuration in the VM player. Till this step it worked fine for me. But I couldn’t fine the Oracle XE database in the link you have provided. I guess that might be an old link which is currently expired. I just went to the Oracle official site from my Windows Server 2003 and tried to install Oracle 11 Windows 32 bit. But I couldn’t even download it on my Virtual machine. I couldn’t download the Informatica Powercenter 8.1.1 as well.

    Can you just let me what is actually interrupting me to download these files on my VMPlayer Windows 2003??

    This guidance would be very helpful.

  38. Sai says:

    Hi Jiri, Apologies for putting up on lot of questions.

    Because this version is not working on my machine, I tried to install the latest version of Informatica PowerCenter 9.5.1 on my lappy.

    I am getting the Fatal Application Error while instaling Informatica 9.5.1 on Windows8 64 bit

    This Application has unexpectedly Quit.

    Invocation of this Java application has caused an Invocation TargetException.
    This Application will now exit (LAX).

    I guess this might be because of missing install.lax file

    I have actually downloaded and extracted the files from official Oracle site couple of times. But this file is missing.

    Please guide me.

    I desperately need Informatica on my machine asap.

  39. jiri says:

    Here is newest Oracle XE http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/database/database-technologies/express-edition/downloads/index.html

    the informatica link I posted is very old, honestly it is possible it simply does not work with newer windows

  40. Sai says:

    Hi Jiri, I ave downloaded Informatica Powercenter and Oracle on my local machine and enable sharing these folders in the VMWARE.

    But I couldn’t see the folder mapped as network drive. when I start the WINDOWS SERVER in VMWARE.

    How do I see these folders which I have enabled sharing??

    Can you just elaborate in specific.

  41. jiri says:

    you need to install vmware tools inside the vmware (in windows server). That will allow to be the drive visible, copy-paste between the environments etc…. I think you will have to reboot the windows server at the end.

    https://www.vmware.com/support/ws55/doc/new_guest_tools_ws.html

  42. […] Informatica Powercenter up and running in less than 30 … – Informatica Powercenter up and running in less than 30 minutes and yes it’s free (well free trial at least, with full PDF documentation)!… […]

  43. Svintus says:

    Hello, jiri!
    Thanks for the instructions!
    Informatica PowerCenter 9.5.1 doc says that it requires 4GB or RAM and 2 CPUs.
    Is that for real?
    I just want to learn it, so I won’t have huge amounts of data running through it.
    Can I install it on a dual-core AMD laptop with 1GB or RAM?

    Thank you!

  44. jiri says:

    in real PROD environment you want way more than that, but in VM it worked for me with 1GB RAM

  45. Svintus says:

    jiri, thanks!

    Yes, I understand that. I’m just worried that Informatica installer may check the requirements and quit if it sees one CPU and one gig of RAM.

    I’ve been running OpenSuse for 7 years on this laptop but will have to install winders for this purpose. I will not even bother with VM, just straight install.

    The latest version of PowerCenter that is available on Oracle Edelivery is 9.5.1.

    So I am planning to install winders 7 (32 bit), Oracle XE 11.2 and PowerCenter 9.5.1 server and client. All on this laptop.

    Do you think it’ll work?
    Again, not asking about performance, just the ability to install and run (even if it runs slowly).

    I am a DataStage developer but looks like Informatica is more popular because it’s cheap and simple. So I’d like to learn it.

    I think you have the most straightforward installation instructions from what I’ve seen so far.

    Thank you!

  46. jiri says:

    honestly no idea, I used vmware back in the old days – super simple setup and when you are done, you can nuke it all without any trace of anything left behind

    if you are worried about CPU/RAM, get Amazon AWS Micro windows 32bit instance + tiny Oracle RDS for free https://aws.amazon.com/free/ and try it there, no idea if it will work

Leave a Reply

